Stand by You by Rachel Platten

Even though this song isn’t sad, it’s one of those rarities that’s choked me up with tears from the emotional connection I have both with its lyrics and its music. It’s rare when I can truly own an entire song like I can this one. I’m very much a cheerleader for those I care about; it drives me to help others feel empowered, understood, and not alone. So besides this song have the perfect rhythm ever, this song took the words right out of my heart’s wish for all those I care about.


“Hands, put your empty hands in mine
And scars, show me all the scars you hide
And hey, if your wings are broken please take mine till yours can open too
Cause I’m going to stand by you.”

“Oh tears make kaleidoscopes in your eyes 
And hurt, I know you’re hurting but so am I
And Love, if you’re wings are broken borrow mine til yours can open too
Cause I’m going to stand by you”

“Even if we’re breaking down
We can find a way to break through
Even if we can’t find heaven I’ll walk through hell with you
Love, your not alone I’m going to stand by you.”

“Yeah you’re all I ever knew I needed
And the heart, sometimes it’s unclear why it’s beating
And Love, if your wings are broken, we can brave through those emotions too
Cause I’m going to stand by you.”

“And truth, I guess truth is what you believe in
And faith, I think faith is having a reason
And nah nah nah
Love if your wings are broken borrow mine till yours can open too.”

“Cause I’m going to stand by you 
Even if we’re breaking down 
We can find a way to break through 
Even if we can’t find heaven, I’ll walk through hell with you
Love, you’re not alone ’cause I’m going to stand by you”

“I’ll be your eyes till yours can shine
And I’ll be your arms and I’ll be your steady satellite 
And when you can’t rise,
Well I’ll crawl with you on hands and knees cause I,”

“I’m going to stand by you
Even when we’re breaking down
We can find a way to break through
Even if we can’t find heaven I’ll walk through hell with you
Love, you’re not alone cause I’m going to stand by you.”

“Even if we can’t find heaven I’m going to stand by you
Even if we can’t find heaven I’ll walk through hell with you
Love, you’re not alone because I’m going to stand by you
Love, you’re not alone I’m going to stand by you.”

~Jamie

Leave a Reply

