A Kaleidoscope of Mathematics by James Horner

I was about fifteen years old, flipping through a CD rack in a thrift store, when I stumbled across the original soundtrack for “A Beautiful Mind” by James Horner. For some reason I bought it; I’d never seen the film and I was barely knowledgeable about soundtracks. I’d only discovered they’d even existed a few months earlier. I wasn’t to know I was holding an utterly breathtaking piece of musical score in my hand.

Yet my gut told me to buy it and bring it home.

This was the first track on that disc and it blew my young mind. I’ve not stopped listening to my gut since and I’ve not stopped listening to soundtracks either, thanks to this piece.

~Jamie

Leave a Reply

